15 teams to battle for OCBC Speedway Club Championship title

News Agent | 23rd Jul 2015 | NEWS

SINGAPORE, 22 July 2015 – OCBC Cycle 2015 is proving to be more than just another mass cycling event with the inaugural OCBC Cycle Speedway Club Championship. Fifteen top local cycling teams will be taking part in this Championship, which is set to revolutionize the local cycling scene and thrill fans with its spectator-friendly and exhilarating high-speed racing format.

Among the teams taking part is the Geylang Cycling Team, one of Singapore’s oldest teams that started in 1967. Team manager Paul Lim welcomed the introduction of the Speedway Club Championship and hoped to see it as an annual event. He said: “It is definitely a right move to initiate more cycling events, as inter club competitions will raise the standard of cycling and also help grow the cycling fraternity, especially the clubs.”

Geylang Cycling Team

Echoing his sentiments was Leong Sai Keong, team manager of the Joyriders Racing Team, who were formed in 2012 as the racing arm of one of Singapore’s most popular recreational cycling communities. He said that the Championship “provides a platform for the clubs to compete at the club level which is lacking in the cycling racing scene in Singapore.” The Joyriders will be sending in two teams and teammate Sebastian Varguese was also bullish about their prospects, saying “I think our first team can definitely do a podium finish although we will have to watch out for the Mavericks who will be our biggest competition.”

Joyriders Cycling Team

Cycling fans can be assured of a high level of competition with luminaries such as Pierre Alain Scherwey, former winner of the Tour de Bintan who also used to be part Switzerland’s national cycling program, and Kathryn Haesner, a Singapore-based professional triathlete who recently finished second at the Challenge Taiwan Half Ironman Distance Triathlon event taking part as well.

The thrilling new format, a first in Singapore, will see four riders in each team riding a total of 10 laps in pairs around a fast and flat 1-kilometre course. The first two cyclists will ride five laps before passing the baton to the second pairing who will finish off the remaining laps. The event is the first of its kind in the region, and possibly the world, and will offer fast, awe-inspiring action in a safe and spectator-friendly format. The Championship can be viewed from many vantage points along the course, and will give the spectators an up close and personal experience as they watch the riders whizz by. Prizes of $800, $600 and $400 will be awarded to the 1st and 3rd place teams respectively.

“One of the objectives of the new OCBC Cycle is to increase the engagement with the local cycling community. Given the lack of competing platforms for a growing number of high performance cycling enthusiasts in Singapore, OCBC Cycle Speedway Club Championship aims to feed that hunger for good local races. Cyclists would relish whatever opportunity there is to pit their abilities against each other in a competitive environment. Not only does the OCBC Cycle Speedway Championship serves as the right platform for this purpose, it is also a first-of-its kind race format here. The sheer thrill and excitement of the 15 teams competing in a relay, where strong sprint competency and flawless teamwork are key ingredients for victory, will be much anticipated. We wish all participating teams all the very best!,” said Koh Ching Ching, Head of Group Corporate Communications, OCBC Bank.

The OCBC Cycle Speedway Championship will be held on Saturday, 29th of August 2015 at the Singapore Sports Hub. The Mighty Savers Kids and Family Ride will be taking place on the same day, whereas the community rides, The Straits Times ride and The Sportive Ride, will be taking place the following day.

More details on the activities leading up to OCBC Cycle 2015 can be found on www.ocbccycle.com.