Topic: [LOCAL NEW] A punch on the cyclist's face landed man in jail

Posted on: 6th Jul 2017 10:52 AM    Quote and Reply

This is an open discussion thread for the news [LOCAL NEW] A punch on the cyclist's face landed man in jail

A motorist was, on Tuesday (4 July), sentenced to an imprisonment of four weeks for a case of road rage that resulted in an injured cyclist and a damaged road bike. A separate charge of mischief was taken into consideration during sentencing.  

'Togoparts Team'
97 posts
Forum Rep: 0

Singapore
Posted on: 6th Jul 2017 12:40 PM    Quote and Reply

I am a driver n a cyclist. The rule is to ride as close to the left as possible and not more than 2 abreast. The practice is not more than 1.5m apart. But what i see is that many riders are occupying the whole lane. I wanted to say this since a long time " THIS IS NOT YOUR GRANDFATHER'S ROAD " for your safety and the inconvience to other road users.

Regular Forumer
67 posts
Forum Rep: 10

Riding:
Posted on: 7th Jul 2017 7:51 AM    Quote and Reply

I agree with seykai. Though we would not know the real story of this incident let us learn from it. Most of us practice safe cycling and follow the rules but there are just some which give cyclist a bad reputation of hogging the road. 

Ride safely and considerate to other users as well.

Freshie Forumer
4 posts
Forum Rep: 3

Singapore
Posted on: 9th Jul 2017 4:49 PM    Quote and Reply

Don't know the extent of the circumstances surrounding the incident, so can't really comment on whose fault it was etc. But physical violence is never the solution to any dispute and cannot be condoned.

As a driver and a cyclist myself, I know that cyclists are allowed to ride 2 abreast and in so doing take up the lane on roads with 2 or more lanes. This is the right of cyclists.