Topic: Road riding safety

Posted on: 26th Sep 2017 8:46 AM    Quote and Reply

Hello guys. Would like to get your opinion. Saw a video posted on Singapore Reckless Drivers group on FB. Basically a few cyclists were condemned for riding wrongly on the road (https://www.facebook.com/sgreckless/videos/1625192567543762/)

Read through the comments and seems like there are two sides to the argument:

1) Cyclists were in the wrong as they did not cycle on the leftmost lane, stop and dismount, and push across the pedestrian crossing to Turn Right. 

2) Cyclists were right as they stayed in the leftmost lane of the direction they were turning into.

I am a newbie cyclist myself and wanted to get some thoughts and opinions from the guru’s here 😀 thanks

Freshie Forumer
1 posts
Forum Rep: 0

Singapore
Posted on: 26th Sep 2017 10:00 PM    Quote and Reply

ITS NOT AN OFFENCE IF THEY ARE TURNING RIGHT. they are still within a right turn lane. The lane they are on is a right turn lane. maybe they did not notice that the left most is a turning lane. its ok as they did not go the the most right lane. they did not go to the furtherest right lane, is because once u turn right, u will be "trapped" on the outtermost right lane , which is for fast moving vehicles and u need to literally struggle to get back to the left most lane and most probly get honked while trying to switch back to the left most lane.

Let me tell u alot of @$$hole drivers in that group are anti-cyclist, they believe that cyclist dont pay road tax means they are treated as lesser users with no previliage at all..ignore those comments that say cyclist are road hogging.

another way of giving u more confidence is go read up the highwaycode book. it tell u what are your rights as a cyclist

Regular Forumer
871 posts
Forum Rep: 102

Singapore
Riding:
Posted on: 26th Sep 2017 11:17 PM    Quote and Reply

In any accident .  Head they win , Tail you lose