Topic: New to bicycles

Posted on: 24th Sep 2017 12:41 PM    Quote and Reply

Hi everyone. I am new to cycling. Just gotten into cycling a few months back. started off with rented bike sharing and I really got to like it. Therefore, browse around and gotten myself a second hand Meridas Crossway. 

I would like to know if there are any cycling groups around in the north, (yishun) where I can join in some of the group rides. I would also like to know more about doing self maintenance on my bicycle as I find it enjoyable. (but I know nuts as of now!) can seek the expertise of all here :)

Really hope to learn more from you all. :)

Just rode home the bike and unfortunately, got a rear tyre flat.... lol.. 

Freshie Forumer
7 posts
Forum Rep: 0

Singapore
Posted on: 26th Sep 2017 12:02 AM    Quote and Reply

Welcome to the world of cycling ^^ Well the 1st thing to pick up for me would be how to replace tubes and tires? These days there are good youtube videos showing how to do this and one could pick up from there i guess. Also if you are out night cycling do dress visibly and have front/rear lights installed ^^ Lube your chain maybe every 150-200 kms? 

Regular Forumer
182 posts
Forum Rep: 32

Singapore
Posted on: 26th Sep 2017 7:53 AM    Quote and Reply

hi. thanks for the advice. I went youtube and watched a few videos but still not confident enough as of now. will definitely take some time to hands on this weekend. 

Went for a cycling yesterday and a few questions popped up:
1)where can I get a fairly decent chain lube, degreaser and anti seize oil, but not too ex? 
2)how do I know if my bike requires servicing already since it is preowned?
3)for v brakes, brake pads are replaced when worn out, how about for mechanical disc brake, and how do I check?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

Freshie Forumer
7 posts

Singapore
Posted on: 26th Sep 2017 9:43 AM    Quote and Reply

Hi, hope you have been enjoying cycling so far. I'm new too and had been having fun in every ride :)