Topic: Looking for advice on a cost-effective way to purchase a bicycle

Posted on: 4th Mar 2015 12:14 AM    Quote and Reply

Greetings!

I am a biking newbie here seeking for advice. I am keen to buy my first bicycle for the purposes of commuting to nearby parks on weekends, to the nearby coffeeshops for meals and sometimes to just cycle around the neighbourhood to relax after a hard day's work. I'm not into anything too serious such as going to the trails or doing long distance road cycling. I hope to get a bike that is reliable and durable (last for at least 5 years). 

With a budget of around SGD500 for the bike and accessories all in,

(1) What type of bicycle should I go for? I'm guessing it's what many would call a hybrid bike? What are some of the brands I can look at? I know brands like Trek is out of my consideration. Which model of the suggested brands should I look into?

(2) Would it make any sense to buy a bike from NTUC/Carrefour and then upgrade it? I'm thinking of getting a cheap bike (~ SGD 150) from there, and then go to a neighbourhood bike shop to upgrade the gears by installing a good Shimano gearing system. I would like to have the feeling of smooth transition of gears while cycling. Is this feasible? 

(3) I'm planning to lock the bike outside my HDB flat. Where and what type of locks are good enough without costing too much (SGD50 and above)?

(3) Any general advice a newbie should take note of?

Many thanks.

Regards

Paul 
Freshie Forumer
1 posts
Forum Rep: 0

Singapore
Posted on: 4th Mar 2015 4:44 AM    Quote and Reply

Based on your description, a basic single speed gentleman bike like 'Flying Pigeon' brand at below $200/- would not even need any upgrading.
If you are more keen in upgrading than usage, buy frameset and components from members selling them here.

Regular Forumer
6,196 posts
Forum Rep: 44

Singapore
Posted on: 4th Mar 2015 7:51 AM    Quote and Reply