Topic: Vert V8 or Hachiko HA-10?

Posted on: 24th Jul 2014 1:50 PM    Quote and Reply

Hi all i am a newbie into cycling and would like to start off with an average foldie and preferably aluminium body. Looking at Vert V8 ($398) which is local brand and made in China versus Hachiko HA-10 ($420) which is proclaimed Japanese (my gut feeling it's local brand also) and made in China.
I am not willing to spend above $500.
Which would you recommend?

Or you guys think i should start cheaper with steel frame bikes that will be Hachiko HA-01 ($245 now on qoo10) vs Aeon 20 ($200)?
Regular Forumer
23 posts
Forum Rep: 1

Singapore
Posted on: 24th Jul 2014 5:23 PM    Quote and Reply

I remember reading bad stuff about Hachikos. Some people may use Japan as marketing-speak for "good quality", but the reality is not everything out of Japan is automatically good.

http://maxxuminteractive.blogspot.sg/2013/03/online-foldable-bike-buying-trend-heres.html

The Hachiko review here is a warning of the quality. Not to say they are bad (mostly overpriced for the kind of parts they use) because it's just the first one I came across but it's not a good sign either.

I've heard better things of Vert but it's not as if you'll get an amazing bike at that price. If it was between the 2, the Vert is the obvious choice - IMO. 

Regular Forumer
82 posts
Forum Rep: 2

Singapore
Posted on: 24th Jul 2014 7:10 PM    Quote and Reply

How about vert v8 vs raleigh Broadway?

Regular Forumer
23 posts

Singapore
Posted on: 24th Jul 2014 7:24 PM    Quote and Reply