Topic: Java Fit vs Vert V8 vs Tern Link D8

Posted on: 22nd Aug 2014 3:58 PM    Quote and Reply

Quote:
"Formerly posted by rata: Hi all,

Newbie here.
I'm looking for a foldie, budget around $400. 
Plan to purchase the Vert 8, any review / advice on this? or do you have any foldie to recommend?
Thanks.

1) to ride at PCN / parks.
2) main purpose to exercise & keep fit.
3) my weight around 110kg. "

Recently bought the Vert V8 for the occasional use when too lazy to pack MTB into car.
It's a pretty decent bike. Feels reasonably solid. On flat roads I find the tall gear not sufficiently fast :)

Got not real complaints about it. Decent bike at an attractive price.
Ultimately I still prefer my 26" MTB if I were to travel longer distances, as I find it gives me a more 'solid' feel.

110kg might be pushing it, but I suppose the foldie can still take the load :)
Hopefully after a lot of riding, the load on the bike will reduce ?

Regular Forumer
286 posts
Forum Rep: 34

Singapore
Riding:
Posted on: 22nd Aug 2014 5:22 PM    Quote and Reply

Hi also a newbie here.

I wanted to purchase a new folding bike of my own and is considering between Vert V8 as well as the Java TT Decaf (2015 edition).

http://www.togoparts.com/marketplace/ad_details.php?aid=727120 (Java TT Decaf 2015)

Pricing for both are relatively similar with the Java Decaf at $418 and the Vert V8 at $398

However, for the 2015 Java Decaf, it comes with a 451 wheel set which i understood to be slightly faster and supposingly more aesthetically pleasing to the eye due to the slimmer width. However, the trade off is that the 451 wheel set is not as common as the 406 wheel set? Would that pose a big problem in terms of repair and maintenance and replacing of parts? 

Which would be the preferred choice given the specs and the above mentioned limitation of the 451 wheelset?

Thank you 

Freshie Forumer
1 posts
Forum Rep: 0

Singapore
Posted on: 22nd Aug 2014 8:43 PM    Quote and Reply

451 is still pretty common.