Topic: An affordable bike to ride around home. Anyone know?

Posted on: 30th Sep 2015 1:01 AM    Quote and Reply

Im a foreign student in Singapore, want to find an affordable bike in Singapore ( 100~400 SGD ) . I see that  Trek , Giant're good, but on its website doesnt display the price. I plan to buy a bike on this http://bicycles.sg/shop/?max_price=900&min_price=800 . Is it a good choice? I just go around my HDB to have lunch and MRT to go to school. Finally, how can I maintenance it and pump tyres. Thank you everyone
Freshie Forumer
3 posts
Forum Rep: 0

Vietnam
Posted on: 30th Sep 2015 10:54 PM    Quote and Reply

Depend on which location you stay in and what type of bike you want to use. Casue sometime people might steal your bicycle part or the bike itself. Doing Normal daily activity if no rush can have a MTB casue durable and would casue any issue.

Go Ride ur life Out
Regular Forumer
44 posts
Forum Rep: 7

Singapore
Riding:
Posted on: 1st Oct 2015 10:59 PM    Quote and Reply

If you are looking for something to just lock up at the mrt station i would not spend more then $200SGD on it. You would want it to look normal and cheap. That way at least that will deter thieves to look at other bikes instead of yours when they need to take something for a ride.

Even at $200 it should be more than enough for your desired purpose to just riding around your flat area and nothing else. For maintenance it would probably be easy to just bring it back to the store if you are not interested in learning how to do it yourself because there it quite a bit to learn depending what type of bike you get. And at least buy a small tire pump because that is something you will have to do probably every 2-3 weeks when the air comes out.

Regular Forumer
26 posts

Canada
Riding:
Posted on: 1st Oct 2015 11:19 PM    Quote and Reply

Get those $69 or $99 bike in Giant is good enough. Buy a bicycle lock from Qoo10 or neighbourhood bike shop and you are ready to go.